Lightspeed 2015.2.0.1 Brings Back Barcodes of Product Codes!

If you regularly print product labels with barcodes of Product Codes, you may recently have been shocked to discover that Lightspeed 2015.2 removes this feature entirely!

If you read the release notes for Lightspeed 2015.2 (released on Feb. 18th, 2015), you may notice that “Product label barcodes are now printed off Product ID by default” is listed as an ‘Enhancement’ to the product. What they failed to mention was that not only is Product ID the default, Product Code no longer exists as an option. Many of my clients found this out the hard way and my phone has been ringing off the hook recently because of this.

The good news is that there exists a new version of Lightspeed that puts this feature back. Whether there was a really good reason for removing it or they just underestimated how many people it would effect… I can’t say, but they’ve quietly put it back. So quietly that no one knew about it.

As of this writing, there is no notice of the update on their website. No release notes to explain the issue and no mention of the minor version increment on their downloads page… however, if you download the latest version of Lightspeed Onsite Server, you will get version 2015.2.0.1 which, I’ve confirmed, puts this feature back.

Print Product Labels

Take a look at these screen shots and you’ll see the feature mysteriously removed and then returned… but with a warning that may indicate why it was removed in the first place.

Barcodes may not scan correctly if the Product Code is too long for the selected label size.

Of course, this has always been an issue and I always train my clients to avoid this… but I’ll bet that their tech support department got tired of dealing with it so their answer was to remove the feature.

I’m also told that version 2.0.1 is a special build which fixed a few issues that some clients were getting with Station Setup. I was told that on 2015.2.0, if a customer had not set their printers prior, after changing printers in Printer Setup… it would cause Lightspeed to quit unexpectedly.

Personally,  while confused at why they would just suddenly ‘drop’ a feature that has been in Lightspeed since the beginning, I’m happy that they were able to respond to their users so quickly in bringing it back. However, I am concerned with the way that they chose to handle it. Nothing in the release notes indicated that the feature had been removed. If there had been, some users may have opted to not perform the upgrade until the feature was put back… instead of being shocked to find the option missing. Similarly, upon returning the feature and fixing what sounds like a rather serious issue, no public statement was broadcast via email or otherwise to let people know.

If you’ve found yourself in this situation, make sure you perform a backup of your data first and then download and update your Lightspeed server as soon as you can. As always, I’m available for technical assistance for a fee if you need more personalized service than Lightspeed’s tech support is capable of providing.